The Force has returned

Collin Simpson // Contributing Writer

Gamers rejoice! It’s the fall and every gamer knows what that means. This is the time of year when all the new games hit the market for the holiday season and this year is no exception. Among these new games include “Halo 5: Guardians,” “Call of Duty: Black Ops 3,” and “Rise of the Tomb Raider.” But one of the titles that has gamers really excited is “Star Wars: Battlefront.”

For those who remember, the basis of the Battlefront series is that players can play as a soldier on either side of two opposing armies, battling across various worlds in the Star Wars universe. The first two installments were released in 2004 and 2005 for PlayStation 2 and Xbox, and quickly became huge hits. Players have been screaming for a sequel for the consoles ever since. However, this Battlefront is not considered a sequel, but a reboot.

“There are absolutely things in the previous Battlefront games that you’ll recognize and remember, but DICE wants to put its own flavor on it. That’s the only way we can do it. Hence it’s called ‘Star Wars: Battlefront,’ without a 3 at the end. We want to say it’s something new. But again, it’s going to be very Star Wars and very cool,” Patrick Soderlund, a representative from EA, announced at a gaming conference when Battlefront was first announced in 2013.

Battlefront is part of Disney’s new expansion to promote the new film, The Force Awakens. This installment was developed by Electronic Arts, the same company that developed the Battlefield series.

This installment of Battlefront will be the first to not feature battles from the Clone Wars, focusing instead on battles from the original trilogy. The first gameplay videos aired during the E3 2015 Expo, earning a standing ovation from the attending audience, and comments on the game’s amazing graphics.

The full version of Battlefront will be released on Nov. 17, 2015 for Xbox One, PlayStation Four and the PC, although EA has announced that Xbox One players will be able to receive the game a week earlier. However, players will be given the chance to try the game out even earlier than that, with the announcement that the beta for Battlefront will be released on Oct. 8, giving gamers their first taste of Battlefront.

There’s no complicated sign-up process — getting into the Battlefront beta is as simple as downloading it from your digital marketplace of choice. PS4 players can download the beta from the PlayStation Store, Xbox One owners can get it from the Xbox Live Marketplace and PC gamers can download it from EA’s Origin client. The beta itself will take up a total of 7 GB.

The full game will feature seven different modes for gamers to play on. However, only three modes will be available for the Beta:

Walker Assault on Hoth: In this mode, you can fight in 40-player online battles on the classic Battle of Hoth map. You can either side with the Rebels to destroy the Empire’s onslaught of AT-AT’s, or you can side with the Empire and protect your Walkers to crush the Rebel objective. Also, under the right circumstances, you can unlock Hero mode, which will allow you to play as either Luke Skywalker or Darth Vader, depending on which side you choose.

Drop Zone on Sullust: On this mode, your goal is to capture falling escape pods and defend them from the opposing team as the pods open, so you can get the power-ups inside. Once the time runs out, you are presented with the choice of staying with the pod longer to collect its contents or rush to the next pod to keep your opponents from retrieving that pod’s contents. With frenzied 8 player vs 8 player matches, Drop Zone is sure to put your gaming skills to the test.

Survival Mission on Tatooine: The role on this game is survival. You play a Rebel soldier stranded on Tatooine, where you’re forced to battle wave after wave of Imperial forces that will include Stormtroopers, AT-ST’s, TIE fighters, and much more. On this mode, you’ll be able to play alone or with a friend, either through online co-op or split screen mode.

The beta was released on Oct. 8 and will end on Oct. 12. As with all betas, there may be technical glitches during gameplay, as this is the rough draft of the game. Also, once the beta ends on Oct. 12, all of the achievements and level-ups made during gameplay will be deleted. So, pick up your controllers, and get ready to battle in a galaxy far, far away.


Be the first to comment on "The Force has returned"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.