SGA Election results are in

By: Patricia Menendez and Joshua Ceballos/PantherNOW Staff


Student Government Association 2019-2020 Election preliminary results were announced on Friday, April 5 by Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs, Dr. Elizabeth Bejar.

Official results will be released on the SGA website “after all pending Elections Board grievances have been resolved,” Bejar said.

The following are the preliminary results for the Student Government Council of the Modesto Maidique Campus.

  • President- Sabrina Rosell
  • Vice President-Isabella Ojeda
  • Nicole Wertheim College of Nursing & Health Sciences Senators- Ana Nevia and Elizabeth Vazquez
  • College of Business Senators- David Nivia, Karla Sofia Perez, Gabriela Ponce and Jonathan Soufia
  • University Graduate School Senators- Mitra Naseh, Angel Algarin, Bertha Vera and Leila Zahedi
  • Lower Division Senators- Alexandra Ibarria, Briana Jimenez, Carolina Machin and Kiara Mohammad
  • Housing Senators- Cameron Moody and Molly Sanchez
  • College of Arts, Sciences, and Education Senators- Alejandro Arzola, Mallory Fortuno, Janelle Fraga, Amy Gonzalez, Leslie Llambias and Sophia Viteri
  • Honors College Senator- Cornelius Brown

Winning members of the Future is You party at SGC-MMC, including president Sabrina Rosell (center). Photo by Joshua Ceballos.

A runoff election will be held for the At-Large Senator positions on Tuesday, April 9 and Wednesday, April 10 at MMC because of technical issues during the original election dates. There will also be a recount for CARTA senators at MMC due to the voting numbers being so close, and the results of the recount will come out simultaneously with the runoff results.

The following are the preliminary results for the Student Government Council of the Biscayne Bay Campus.

  • President- Pamela Ho Fung
  • Vice President- Mahalia Balfour
  • Upper Division Senator- Gabriel Hernandez
  • Chaplin School of Hospitality and Tourism Management Senator- Yuze Ji
  • Communication + Journalism Senator- Aaliyah Gordon
  • I-75 Senator- Catalina Nemmi
  • Health Services Administration Senator- Mark Manoco
  • College of Arts, Science, and Education Senator- Gabrielle Malak
  • At Large Senators- Mickalia Paisley and Keanu Orfano

Winning candidates at the Biscayne Bay Campus celebrating with Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs Anthony DeSantis (third from left). Photo courtesy of Pamela Ho Fung.

No grievances or issues have been found with the BBC elections, so the final announcement is likely to match the preliminary results.

Be the first to comment on "SGA Election results are in"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.