Album Releases to Look Forward to in March and April

The 1975, along with a bunch of artists, release new albums in March and April.

Anna Radinsky/Entertainment Director

One benefit of self-quarantine is that it gives us time to listen to music.

From The 1975 to Lady Gaga to Thundercat, music lovers of all genres can look forward to something new.

All artists on this list have confirmed album releases up until the end of Spring Semester.

March 20 (Already Released)

The Weeknd: After Hours

It has been almost four years since “Starboy” and listeners have been anxiously waiting for The Weeknd’s new album- so much so that it has broken a new record of the most Apple Music pre-adds, surpassing Billie Eilish’s album, “When We All Fall Asleep, Where Do We Go?” The album has 14 songs, including the singles “Heartless” and “Blinding Lights.”

J Balvin: Colores

Less than a day after the Colombian reggaeton singer released his new album, it topped iTunes charts around the world. It reached #1 in Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Macau and Peru. “Colores” features 10 songs, all with names of colors.

Adam Lambert: Velvet

It has been almost five years since the runner up of the eighth season of American Idol has released a new album. “It’s the most authentic version of myself I’ve ever been,” he said to USA Today. “Velvet” features 13 songs.

Morrissey: I Am Not a Dog on a Chain

The former frontman of the rock band The Smiths has released his 13th studio album. “I Am Not a Dog on a Chain” features 11 songs.

March 27 (Already Released)


The Canadian artist is releasing his first new album in four years, following his LP “PARTYNEXTDOOR 3.” The album will feature the songs “Loyal,” which features Drake, and a remix of “Loyal” featuring Bad Bunny.

Jessie Reyez: Before Love Came To Kill Us

The Colombian-Canadian pop artist is releasing her debut 14-track album fueled by a breakup. According to The Guardian, one of her songs have the lyrics of “I should have f*cked your friends, it would have been the best revenge,” sang in a R&B voice similar to Kehlani or Ariana Grande. Eminem is featured in a song. Jessie Reyez was also scheduled to open for Billie Eilish on tour. 

5 Seconds of Summer: CALM

The Australian pop rock band are releasing their fourth album. Lead vocalist Luke Hemmings said to Rolling Stone, “Calm speaks on a journey through a young man’s life, for better or for worse.” The band have also announced their North American “No Shame” Tour, coming to Jacksonville, FL at the Daily’s Place (the closest location to Miami) on Sept. 10. Check out the album trailer here

April 3

Dua Lipa: Future Nostalgia (Already Released)

The English singer is releasing her second album, featuring the hit singles “Don’t Start Now” and “Physical” as part of her 11 tracks. One of Dua Lipa’s hit singles “New Rules” has over 1.3 billion hits on Spotify and 2 billion views on YouTube. 

Thundercat: It is What It Is

The Los Angeles artist is releasing his new 15-track album, featuring contributions from Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, Ty Dolla $ign, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole and comedian/rapper Zack Fox. The album features Thundercat’s latest single, Black Qualls

Peach Pit: You and Your Friends

The indie pop band from Canada are releasing their second album after quitting their jobs to push their music career. They have landed on the Billboard charts, signed with Columbia Records and their song “Peach Pit” has 33 million hits on Spotify.  The 12-track album features their songs “Shampoo Bottles” and “Black Licorice.” Check out the album trailer here

April 10

The Strokes: The New Abnormal

The American rock band from New York City is releasing their first album in seven years. The 9-track album features the already-released singles, “At the Door” and “Bad Decisions.”

Joe Satriani: Shapeshifting

The best-selling instrumental rock guitarist of all time with over 10 million albums sold and 15 Grammy Award nominees, his 18th album features 13 tracks, co-produced by Satriani and Jim Scott of the Foo Fighters and Red Hot Chili Peppers. This year also marks Satriani’s induction into the Metal Hall of Fame and a world tour. The album features his single, “Nineteen Eighty.” 

April 17

Rina Sawayama: SAWAYAMA

The Japanese-born British singer’s debut 13-track studio album “is stuffed with frenetic tracks that splinter into thrashing rock and slithering electro beats,” as said on Pitchfork. Her already released singles are “XS,” and “Comme Des Garçons (Like the Boys).

EOB: Earth

Radiohead’s guitarist Ed O’Brien (aka EOB) is releasing his debut 9-track solo album, featuring the already released singles “Shangri-La” and “Earth.” Check out the album trailer here

Gregory Porter: All Rise

The American singer is the world’s best-selling contemporary jazz/soul artist with over 3 million worldwide album sales. He won two Grammys for Best Jazz Vocal Album for his 2014 “Liquid Spirit” and his 2017 “Take Me to the Alley.” The digital deluxe version of his newest album features 16 tracks. 

dvsn: A Muse In Her Feelings

The Canadian R&B duo, composed of singer Daniel Daley and producer Nineteen85, are releasing their third studio album, featuring their singles, “Between Us”, “A Muse”, “Miss Me?”, and “No Cryin” featuring Future.

April 24

The 1975: Notes on a Conditional Form

22 songs are set to be released for the second half of The 1975’s Music for Cars era, which represents an era for the band to release music, said Matthew Healy to Beats 1 Radio. In an interview with The New York Times, Healy said the new album is the “U.K.’s nighttime record: … in cars smoking weed, Burial and McDonalds and the M62 and Manchester — just England!” he said. The album includes five singles already released: “The 1975 (NOACF),” “People,” “Frail State of Mind,” “The Birthday Party,” and “Me & You Together Song.”

HAIM: Women in Music Pt. III

The three-sister Los Angeles pop rock band from Los Angeles are releasing their third album, featuring already released songs “Summer Girl,” “Now I’m in It,” “Hallelujah,” and “The Steps.” The band was nominated for Best New Artist at the 57th Annual Grammy Awards and have over 1000 million hits on Spotify for their song, “The Wire.”

Trivium: What The Dead Men Say

The heavy metal band from Orlando is releasing their ninth album ahead of joining Megadeth and Lamb of God on a North American tour starting in June. The album features 10 songs, including the lead single “Catastrophist.”

Robby Krieger: The Ritual Begins at Sundown

The guitarist of The Doors will be releasing his first solo album in 10 years. The jazz album will feature 10 songs, one of which has already been released, “The Drift.”

UPDATE: Willie Nelson’s “First Rose of Spring” album release has been pushed to July 3. Oliver Tree’s “UGLY IS BEAUTIFUL” album release has been cancelled. Lady Gaga’s “Chromatica” album release has been delayed.

Have a story? Think we should look into something? Know a person or club that has a story worth telling? Let us know. You can remain anonymous. Email

Be the first to comment on "Album Releases to Look Forward to in March and April"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.